I am a hero.

“You are my hero… “These words from my rheumatologist’s mouth caught me entirely off guard. I laughed, an old trick I learned as a Baptist preacher’s daughter when I felt uncomfortable. He came right back again: “I’m serious. You are my hero.”

I am having trouble soaking that one in. I don’t know why? Maybe I had my shield up so strong that nothing came through. I told a friend, “how can I be a hero if I can’t even drive or function as an adult in this society”. I am 5 1/2 months into healing from the car accident. It seems to all be about trusting the slow heal. There’s no “hurry up” on anything. 

So 24 hours later, I am still wrestling with the word. I decided to look it up in the dictionary, a leftover tactic from being a good girl student. Now I’m just angry!

he·ro. ˈhirō/. noun.  1. a person, typically a man, who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.”a war hero”. synonyms: brave person, brave man/woman, man/woman of courage, man/woman of the hour, lionheart, warrior, knight. 2. another term for submarine sandwich. 

What is this “typically a man” business?! That just offends me on every level.   (Nor do I identify with being a submarine sandwich, by the way). 😏

So in God’s humor, the ridiculousness of the definition has had the desired effect. While I am not so sure about any “Noble qualities”, I can say this with certainty:

Yes

I am a hero. 

Courage. Bravery. Me. 

Yes



.

Leave a Reply

