Changing light

The light pools, pouring into the street below like rain. Blue white Mercury, chilling all in its path. Memories stir, drawn by the eerie light to surface. 

It was pink, warm, comforting; as much as a city light can be. He changed it, the neighbor, cherry picker in his electric truck just right for the work. 

Now the light pulls me back into the past. Another bluish light, another window, a tiny girl. The icy glow frozen in time, terror illuminated in its broad circle. 

The warmth of the rosy  light resonates within now, impenetrable by a streetlight. The memories are mine, no longer lurking in the shadows. Released from their shroud, they lose their bite of power. 

2 thoughts on “Changing light

  1. This drew me in…then drew me in deeper…then I had to re-read what I had just read and let the stirring inside me breathe. Then I started at the beginning again. And it took me right to you, your story, your heart. Lovely, Jo. Really. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

