I need Thee every hour

In joy or pain…

This has been one of those days. It is a day when I have to choose truth. And so I put music on, and I take a shower, and I go for a walk. 

What will my rhythms be in this strange season I have been suddenly thrust into? This one handed, no car, season. This food at my door every evening, laundry returned folded, season. 

I was trying to think last night what I can do. The thought came, I can breathe. I forget that sometimes. But I am alive! Perhaps this is the season for me to notice my breath.

I can be present. I can do the work of being all the way there. I can welcome my children, with my eyes, with my voice, with my presence. Perhaps this is the season for me to be present. 

I can listen. There is lots of quiet space. I longed for that over the holidays.  Now I’m here in the quiet, and it has a sound of its own. Perhaps this is the season for me to listen. 

I have a frame that hangs in the corner, empty. It represents the Mystery, The unknown of what is ahead. Perhaps this is the season for Mystery. 

Breath. Presence.  Listen. Mystery. 

One thought on “I need Thee every hour

Leave a Reply

